Stoltenberg named mountains in Antarctica

Three mountains were named when Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg recently visited the Norwegian research station Troll in Dronning Maud Land.

Jens Stoltenberg

Photo: K. Pedersen / Norwegian Polar institute

“Trollveikja”, “Trollguten” and “Trolltinden” are the new names three mountains near the Norwegian research station Troll. Stoltenberg crushed an ice bottle, resembling a bottle of Champagne, in the mountainside officially declaring the names of the mountains.

Jens Stoltenberg is the first Norwegian Prime Minister setting foot on the Antarctic continent. The research station Troll served as his base during his stay.

“The purpose of the visit is to claim our belonging in Antarctica, and that Norway has had, and still has, a central role in Antarctica. Additionally, I want learn about the extensive climate research taking place around Troll. Antarctica holds the key to a better understanding of the climate change taking place on a global scale, as changes in the Antarctic climate and ice will influence the whole world”, the Prime Minister stated to the press team following his visit in Dronning Maud Land.

The Norwegian research effort in Antarctica is crucial to understand climate change, Stoltenberg stressed, also promising a continued effort following up on the International Polar Year.

The research station Troll has been in use since 1990, and in 2005 it was upgraded to a year-round station, officially opened by Queen. The station is owned and operated by the Norwegian Polar Institute.