International cooperation in Antarctica

No country has recognised territorial possessions in Antarctica. The management and governance of the continent and its surrounding sea areas take place through partner organisations and are anchored in a number of international treaties. Antarctic cooperation is founded on three cornerstones – peace, scientific research and environmental protection.

The Antarctic Treaty is the origin of various other international agreements that – along with the Treaty itself – are often referred to as the Antarctic Treaty System. This complex of arrangements includes the Convention for the Conservation of Antarctic Seals, the Convention for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources and the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty.