Dronning Maud Land constitutes a sixth of the Antarctic Continent, and it is almost seven times larger than Norway. The area borders the British sector in the west and to the Australian sector of the east. Dronning Maud Land was annexed by Norway 14 January 1939. It covers the area between 20 ° W and 45 ° A. The area was named after Queen Maud of Norway (1869–1938).